JSNAA Priority Areas Image JSNAA Priority Starting Well Image JSNAA Priority Living Well Image JSNAA Priority Ageing Well Image JSNAA Population Image JSNAA Priority Strategic Assets Image JSNAA Priority Wider Determinants Image

There are nine protected characteristics in the Equality Act. Under the Act, discrimination which happens because of one or more of these characteristics is unlawful.

The following dashboard shows the distribution of the county’s population and households across a 8 of the 9 equality protected characteristic indicators:

  • Age/Gender/Ethnic Group
  • Gender Identity
  • Sexual Orientation
  • Religion
  • Disability
  • Married or Civil Partnerships

Other datasets also included:

  • Proficiency in speaking English
  • Households with multiple ethnic groups
  • Single Person Households aged 66 and over

The data is derived for the Office for National Statistics 2021 Census, results of which are available from:

Further information on these protected characteristics can be found at